8th Grade Science Chemistry Lab Report: Iron Nitrate and Sodium Bicarbonate

I wrote a lab report with a partner as my most recent project in 8th Grade Science about the chemicals Iron Nitrate and Sodium Bicarbonate. It is a professional report and has to follow a lot of specific guidelines. I am very proud of it so far and have been putting my full effort into making my report eloquent while staying based on facts. You can read my full lab report by clicking on this link.

My science lab report paper is currently in the process of “peer review.” Peer review is an important part of the scientific communication process in which an article is shared with experts in the field to read, check for accuracy, and make suggestions for improvement. Peer review helps make sure published science is correct and usable by others. I have submitted a draft of my report to my teacher, classmates, and experts in the field. I would like to invite you, my reader, to share in the peer review process by leaving a comment in the Comments section below with suggestions for how I can improve or thoughts on the current strengths of my paper.

I would rate my overall effort on this project so far as a 5 because  I feel like I have worked really hard so far, doing my best work possible. I have spent a lot of time on diagrams, and making my work sound very professional while still being clear.

One thing that was hard about this project so far was following the very specific guidelines of a scientific lab report. Not being able to use the word “it” goes against what I have learned in school up to this point. Being repetitive is something I’ve always avoided but it is impossible in a lab report. Another aspect is having to write is pass tense all the time. getting used to these things has been difficult for me.

The thing that I am most proud of about this project so far is the diagram of reactants and products. I spent a long time making it very organized and accurate. It took me a long time considering there were 56 atoms to draw on one side of the equation. Then balancing the equation pushed me to think really hard. I found this challenging but continued to create it and didn’t get sloppy with my work.

 

 

 

One thought on “8th Grade Science Chemistry Lab Report: Iron Nitrate and Sodium Bicarbonate

  1. Hi Hattie!!! You lab report is looking really nice. One part that is currently done really well is the diagram showing set up instructions it looks really nice.
    One thing that needs improvement is to make sure you remember to add the product to your chemical equation.
    One thing I really like about the design of your blog is how nicely organized your blog is.
    One thing for overall improvement is to make sure you change the ended text to black.

    Like

Leave a Reply

